Guestbook



We recently stayed for a week at Rothley Lodge with our family and have to say the property is beautiful and the surrounding countryside breathtaking. The stay was made all the better for the hospitality of the owners Damien and Lorraine who were always there when we needed anything. We will definitely be returning in the future

Excellent, 

"Fabulous holiday!"

We came to celebrate a 50th birthday with 9 family members, ranging in age from 18 months to 64 years. We all had a fantastic time. The house is beautiful, but very comfortable and well-equipped. The grounds are amazing and we loved exploring them. Damian and Lorraine were incredibly helpful with any minor issues we had. I hope to come back and explore more of this beautiful part of the world from this lovely house.

Mar 7, 2017

"Fantastic -immaculate welcoming family home"

Rothley Lodge is perfect for a luxury stay with extended family as there is plenty of room with a large dining room and sitting room plus eat-in kitchen allowing all the family to sit and eat together whilst there is also space for those moments when you don't necessarily all want to be together. The whole house is immaculate and beautifully decorated - the kitchen is especially impressive with everything you could possibly need from Nespresso coffee maker to a stunning blue Aga in pristine condition. Lorraine and Damian are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We loved the fresh eggs every day. My daughters were encouraged to play the piano and am not sure why others have commented on blinds as certainly not an issue for us. A really lovely Christmas with wonderful family memories.

Mar 4, 2017

"Beautiful house, Awesome location, Lovely host"

Any pictures of Rothley Lodge and the considerable surroundings it sit in do not do it justice - It is quiet simply stunning. We stayed for 4 nights to celebrate a family birthday with 8 adults, 3 exuberant children and a toddler and created a family memory that will stay with us forever. The house is large with every conceivable luxury and easily swallowed us all without us ever being on top of each other. Outside is even better. Lichen covered steps, narrow walkways and forgotten tree covered alcoves wind down to the bubbling river bank far below - absolutely magical !! and to cap it all... Lorraine the owner who lives "up the lane" couldn't have been nicer even taking the time to take the children egg hunting - thanks Lorraine, hope to see you and Rothley Lodge again one day

Oct 9, 2015

"Exceptional house and grounds, a perfect holiday!"

We spent a week at Rothley Lodge in a group of 3 adults and 4 children, aged between 7 and 11. The house itself is beautiful, a large warm welcoming kitchen with an Aga, which we embraced and cooked some fabulous meals...once we'd read up on which oven was which! The rooms are all very spacious and attractive. We were a little worried about not closing upstairs blinds (as requested by the owners) but it is so dark it's not a problem and lie-ins weren't affected by dawn light. Despite being summer we made use of the fabulous open fire which gave an added cosines to the evenings. Damian and Lorraine are lovely and have thought of everything, we wanted for nothing in terms of kitchen utensils, and they made us feel very welcome. We didn't need anything extra but felt we could certainly have asked if need arose. Fresh eggs from the hens on our arrival were a lovely touch and we enjoyed feeding the chickens and collecting eggs during our stay. The grounds are extensive and our children spent most of their week exploring, hiding in dens and running around. The access to the stream has some steeper, moss covered paths which could be slippery if wet but in appropriate footwear this wasn't a problem. We fished for crayfish and to the children's delight caught a few (and set them free!) we also saw a possible mink and a good few bats. The gas BBQ and seating area was also really lovely and we were lucky enough to have the weather to enjoy this too. The location is also great. Rothbury or Ponteland are 20-30 minutes for shops and supermarkets and days out across Northumberland are easily accessed . We had planned quite a few days out but the children begged to stay at the house most days and play in the grounds. We left Rothley refreshed, relaxed and a little bit in love with this place to be honest. A perfect holiday and we certainly hope to return.

Sep 12, 2015

"Great family home for a holiday"

We were celebrating birthdays and home coming, all of our children and grandchildren had a fantastic holiday, we had some sunny days and we had some wet days, but we had smiles everyday. As we were told the sat nav would not get you to the gate, but we found rothley lodge after. A drive around the countryside, it feels a bit remote but you get to accept the peace and quite of the countryside.

Aug 29, 2015

"Lovely property in beautiful and tranquil setting"

The house is immaculate and the garden a lovely place to be with woods going down to the river. The kitchen is very well stocked with every bit of equipment one could possibly need. There was a bit of a glitch with the heating system whilst we were there but we managed to sort it out. The only criticism we have is that we were advised not to use the Roman blinds in the bedrooms. We weren't quite sure why given they seemed to in working order and because we stayed at the property in mid June, would have been useful due to the very light mornings.

Aug 26, 2015

"Fantastic Stay"

Beautiful property. Immaculate and well equipped. Friendly and welcoming owners. Tasteful d├ęcor. Peaceful location.

Apr 9, 2015

"Beautiful House and grounds"

Have just returned from a fabulous weekend at Rothley Lodge enjoyed by three generations of our family. The house is tastefully decorated with all mod cons and the gardens beautiful (even in February). We especially enjoyed the log fire and the fresh eggs supplied by the owners. I would love to stay here again and would recommend it to those wanting a luxury get away!! Word of warning, don't rely on a Sat-nav, read instructions given on website!

Mar 4, 2015

"Simply wonderful......"

We stayed here for a family celebration in late November which the house was perfect for. Damian and Lorraine couldn't have been more lovely. They prepared everything for our arrival including decorating the house subtly for Christmas. There was freshly laid eggs in the kitchen from their chickens, and the house was toasty. The house was wonderful for a special get together and I couldn't recommend it or them highly enough.

Nov 26, 2014

"Lovely warm, large house, in great surroundings"

Northumberland is a fantastic secret and this house sits just outside the national park in lovely rolling countryside. Hidden away in 5 acres the house is large, smart, well equipped and cosy. It is always a challenge when the age range of the party spans nearly 80 years, but this house suited all of us. With the downstairs bedroom for the oldies, egg collecting for the youngsters, a giant Aga for the foodies and alas good wifi for the teenagers.

Nov 6, 2014

"Perfect Holiday Stay. Highly Recommended"

A lovely base for our holiday in Northumberland. Whilst a significant drive, Rothley offers the perfect base for both Kielder National Forest and the stunning Northumberland Coastline. It is also perfect for visiting Cragside and Wallington National Trust properties, Hadrian's Wall, all of which are a must if you are staying up here. The house was exquisite and such a lovely place to return to at the end of each day. Our children loved exploring the gardens and enjoyed their own private fishing experience at the river. High standard of all rooms. In particular a beautiful kitchen with everything you could possibly need (so not sure what the previous reviewer was missing). Lovely roaring fire to finish off the day relaxing in the cosy lounge (not that we really needed it as the weather was fabulous.....it just felt right to have one!) lots of books to dip in and out of. Damien and Lorraine are the perfect hosts and do whatever they can to ensure you have a great stay....which we did. We will definitely return.

Sep 13, 2014

"Excellent furnished home in tranquil setting"

We had a lovely time at Rothley Lodge for both a holiday and family get together. The house was beautifully furnished and extensively equipped. The location and setting helped us to relax and switch off and the kids loved the river and played there every morning. Lorraine and Damian were very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. Rothley Lodge was a good base for our daily excursions and we enjoyed returning there in the evenings.

Jul 27, 2014

"Just perfect - made for a very special week"

From start to finish we had an amazing week. We were a large family party of 8 people including teenagers and my parents. The house is large and spacious and so we were able to spread out and do our own thing or all be together in the gorgeous country kitchen or hang out in the lounge with the wonderful open fire. The beds were incredibly comfortable and we all slept really well. The grounds are truly amazing and a real delight to explore. Northumberland is a stunningly beautiful county with so much to do and see - far more than we were able to fit into one week. We took trips to Lindisfarne Island, Hadrian's Wall, lots of little villages and Cragside is a must - do make sure you do the drive all around the grounds, it's amazing. Rothbury has some gorgeous individual shops including bakers etc. or Ponteland has the supermarkets. Our hosts Damian and Lorraine were just lovely and couldn't have done more. They really put themselves out and really want you to have a good time. Can't wait till the next visit!!

Jun 10, 2014

"Highly Recommended"

I recently stayed at Rothley Lodge with a group of 10 friends and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet stay in beautiful surroundings. We spent 3 nights at Rothley and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay, accommodation was excellent with a high standard of furnishings etc, the Kitchen was brilliant! The gardens and surrounding areas were ideal for exploring. Generally a really nice place to spend a weekend

Jun 2, 2014

"Beautiful House with Stunning Grounds"

Rothley Lodge is an excellent property to stay in, all the bedrooms are of a good size, the property throughout is furnished and decorated to a high standard, and the grounds complement the beauty of Northumberland perfectly.

Apr 25, 2014

"Fabulous, peaceful break in amazing surroundings"

Fabulous beautiful home in amazing, peaceful surroundings and lots of room for a large family. Fishing at the river is a must , so tranquil and fun.. Gardens and BBQ/Patio area are fantastic, great for a family BBQ. A big thank you to our host Damian he could not have done more. Yes the property is out in the sticks but easy to find if you follow the directions Damian provides. The location is Fabulous and what makes this property special.

Apr 23, 2014

"Relaxing weekend away with friends and family"

1 people found this review helpful
We booked Rothley Lodge for a family celebration in March. We found the property relatively easily following the owners directions although some friends who tried using a satnav got lost so would definitely recommend taking the directions with you when you set off. The owners met us on arrival and showed us around the property making us feel very welcome. The house itself is beautifully decorated and we couldn't fault it. We had a really enjoyable and relaxing weekend here. It is in a very peaceful location although we probably didn't make the most of the grounds. There is quite a steep path from outside of the house down to the river so would need to be careful with young children but its otherwise great for exploring. We would definitely recommend the property and the owners are very welcoming and helpful.

Mar 20, 2014

"Charming secluded getaway in the heart of Northumberland"

2 people found this review helpful
If you're looking for a quiet getaway with friends or family in the beautiful North East Rothley Lodge is a top pick. We were a group of seven who retreated North for four days of fresh air and fun times over the New Year. The owner Damien was on hand to help us find the property and remained extremely accommodating throughout our stay. Although the Northumberland weather wasn't quite so welcoming, we were more than happy to while away the time lazing round the open fire in the lounge and socialising in the large country kitchen. The property is remote but there's a great pub just a five minute drive away - The Ox Inn in Middleton. For groceries and shopping the nearest best bet is Waitrose in Ponteland - 20 minutes drive. All in all a great break and would certainly return. Maybe next time in season to make the most of the complimentary fishing rights.

Feb 17, 2014

"Lots to do in the area"

We had a great week exploring the area with extended family to celebrate granny's 80th birthday. The house is perfect - and the owner is extremely keen that it stays that way! The rule book emailed in advance and pointed out carefully on arrival makes that very clear. You can't even close the blinds in case you crumple them. And using the piano is banned so it needs to be taken out of the particulars really. Unfortunately, one of the fridge freezers didn't work so we were a bit stuck with only one small freezer for a week for 10 people. We had to pay extra for deep cleaning as we had a dog with us, but as the dog was only allowed in the small rear porch I am not sure why we had to pay this. The gardens are extensive though, so as long as it is warm weather you can relax outside. There is lots to do in the surrounding area - National Trust houses and gardens, Alnwick Castle and gardens, the coast, Hadrian's Wall and pretty villages nearby. Overall, we made it a fantastic week but it is a shame we didn't feel we could really relax in the property.

Owner response:

"Dear Guest We are pleased you enjoyed your week holiday, however we are sorry you felt some negative points regarding the property and your stay. Just to clarify, you refer to a 'rule book' which is in fact a guide to the property which explains everything you need to know for safety, security, emergencies and details to make your stay comfortable. Most guests really appreciate the guide and commented positively in previous reviews. The unfortunate situation with the fridge freezer, could not have been replaced in time for your stay, however replaced now. The property does have sufficient refrigeration with two large capacity 60/40 fridge freezers and one medium capacity separate fridge, which has always proved sufficient for all guest parties. The piano is not banned from use, we actually encourage use of the grand piano, however we do always ask guests to respect the age of 1860 and handle with care due to its delicate nature. Unfortunately we do need to charge an additional fee for dogs and deep cleaning to ensure the property is free from dog odours and hairs for follow on guests who may have allergies. Our terms do make it clear that dogs are allowed but not allowed on the furnishings or beds and must sleep in their own dog basket in the rear porch. We are extremely sorry you felt you couldn't relax, we aim to make the property as relaxing as its location and most guests we believe do in fact find the experience very relaxing which previous reviews show. We thank you for your valued booking and your honesty in your review. Kindest regards Rothley Lodge"

Nov 9, 2016
Location